CVE Board

The CVE Board includes numerous cybersecurity-related organizations including commercial security tool vendors, academia, research institutions, government departments and agencies, and other prominent security experts, as well as end-users of vulnerability information. Through open and collaborative discussions, the Board provides critical input regarding the data sources, product coverage, coverage goals, operating structure, and strategic direction of the CVE Program.

The Board operates per the CVE Board Charter, and Board roles and tasks vary by member. New members may be nominated per the Charter. All Board Meetings and Board Email List Discussions are archived for the community.

The Board was created in 1999. It ensures that CVE serves the community and public interest.

Board Members

Board Archives

Board Documents

Working Groups

Current Members

Beverly Alvarez, Lenovo Group Ltd.

Ken Armstrong, EWA-Canada, An Intertek Company

Tod Beardsley, Rapid7 (CNA Coordination Working Group Liaison)

Harold Booth, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Chris Coffin, The MITRE Corporation (MITRE At-Large)

Mark Cox, Red Hat, Inc.

William Cox, Synopsys, Inc.

Patrick Emsweller, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Jay Gazlay, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)

Tim Keanini, Cisco Systems, Inc.

Kent Landfield, McAfee

Scott Lawler, LP3

Chris Levendis, The MITRE Corporation (MITRE CVE Program Leader/CVE Board Moderator)

Art Manion, CERT/CC (Software Engineering Institute, Carnegie Mellon University)

Pascal Meunier, CERIAS/Purdue University

Tom Millar, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA)

Scott Moore, IBM

Kathleen Noble, Intel Corporation

Lisa Olson, Microsoft

Shannon Sabens, CrowdStrike, Inc.

Kurt Seifried, Cloud Security Alliance

Takayuki Uchiyama, Panasonic Corporation

Bill Wall, Harris Corporation

David Waltermire, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)

Ken Williams, Broadcom Inc.

Past Members

The individuals listed below are former members of the CVE Board. We thank them for contributions, especially those with “Emeritus” status who have made particularly significant contributions to the CVE effort.


Andy Balinsky

Scott Blake

Steve Christey Coley

Andre Frech

Elias Levy

Peter Mell

Steve Northcutt

Adam Shostack

Gene Spafford

Other Past Contributors

Jimmy Alderson

Carsten Eiram

Brian Martin

David Baker

Bill Fithen

Ron Nguyen

David Balenson

John Flowers

Larry Oliver

Matt Bishop

Dana Foat

Craig Ozancin

Troy Bollinger

Stu Green

Alan Paller

Natalie Brader

Patrick Heim

Paul Proctor

Rob Clyde

Shawn Hernan

Mike Prosser

Tim Collins

Bill Hill

Damir Rajnovic

Eric Cole

Al Huger

Marcus Ranum

Kelly Cooper

Jim Jones

Elizabeth Scott

Russ Cooper

Panos Kampanakis

Steve Snapp

Marc Dacier

David LeBlanc

Stuart Staniford

Renaud Deraison

Jim Magdych

Tom Stracener


Casper Dik

David Mann

Kevin Ziese

Page Last Updated or Reviewed: July 17, 2020